Certification mark: 61 food, non-food items to be included in PSQCA scheme

Helping to improve the capacity of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Food Safety and Halal food Authority (KPFS&HA)
August 24, 2020
The provincial representative of FFP met with the Secretary Implementation Planning and Development Department Government of Balochistan
August 26, 2020

ISLAMABAD: The government has decided to include 61 food and non-food items in the compulsory certification mark scheme of Pakistan Standards and Quality Control Authority (PSQCA), a statutory body working under the administrative control of Ministry of Science and Technology.
Sharing details, sources said, a summary titled ” inclusion of 61 food and non-food items in the compulsory certification mark scheme of PSQCA” was submitted to the Cabinet. On May 5, 2020, the Cabinet directed that the Ministry of Science and Technology convene a detailed consultative meeting with the Minister for Industries and Production and Prime Minister’s Advisor on Commerce and Investment and resubmit the case.
In pursuance of the Cabinet decision, series of meetings were held to deliberate on the items list and a consensus was evolved. According to the Ministry of Science and Technology, the National Standard Organisation of any country is responsible for highlighting the health and safety issues and formulating food and non-food standards for enforcement to ensure health and safety of consumers. PSQCA has formulated standards after detailed deliberations with experts.
All scientific values essential for health and safety of consumers are specified in the standards. Justification for inclusion of these items is compulsory in the certification mark scheme of PSQCA. National Quality Standards of these items have already been developed by PSQCA and laboratory testing facilities are also available.
Fortified wheat flour (Aata) is one of those proposed items.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2020

Leave a Reply